QBR Wheatley Book Awards: Call for Submissions

wheatleyThis year, the Harlem Book Fair celebrates its 15th anniversary. A new award – QBR Wheatley Book Awards – will debut there too.

In past years, the Phillis Wheatley Award was given as an honor to authors like Maya Angelou, Gordon Parks and Terry McMillan for their body of work. Categories for the new award include debut novel, children’s books and more. There is no entry fee for submissions for this year’s awards. Winners will be announced at the QBR Book Awards Show at the Harlem Book Fair in New York City.

If you have a 2012 title and would like to apply, you can get a submission form here. From the release: “Submission forms may be mailed with books or emailed in advance of books to wheatleyawards@QBR.com. Please include the category name and category number on each submission form. You may submit more than one title per category. A separate entry form must be completed for each submission.”

Please spread the word about this new award. You can also nominate authors for consideration here. Submissions deadline is June 15.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: