What Are BBS Authors Up To? Kelly Starling Lyons

It may be easy to forget that in the midst of pushing for inclusion, your favorite BBS authors are still writing books. Picture book and middle grade author has had a busy 2019.

Her latest work for your book shelves:

Our favorite 4th grade future scientist is back in not one, but two Jada Jones books.

Jada Jones: Dancing Queen

Jada Jones: Sleepover Scientist

The buzz: “Readers who love Ivy and Bean or Katie Woo will want to meet Jada Jones.” —School Library Journal

 

 

 

Going Down Home with Daddy

The buzz: “Lyrical…a heartfelt story of family love, shared history, and connection to a place that binds everyone together.” ―Booklist

 

Sing a Song: How Lift Every Voice & Sing Inspired Generations

The buzz:  “Tracing the history of Black Americans since 1900 through five generations of one family, this creative book also connects events and cultural shifts with particular lines in the song, underscoring their relevance during certain times. . . . With clarity and warmth, the illustrations sensitively capture the changing characters, emotions, and eras as time passes. . . . Well-structured, original story. . . . Dovetailing nicely with the books that introduce the song itself, this moving picture book celebrates it as a ‘symbol of faith, brilliance, resistance, and resilience.’”—Booklist, starred review

One thought on “What Are BBS Authors Up To? Kelly Starling Lyons

  1. Hi,
    I’m a college student studying to be a early childhood teacher, and its sad to say that growing up there wasn’t many books that were diverse for me to read. I was only aware of these types of books for the youth to read in my program,as many schools are becoming more diverse and are aiming to represent every type of student. Our school is very diverse and want there students to become more culturally diverse and aware as well. That’s why I also agree that students in k-12 should be made aware as these topics are becoming more present in younger children, and having something to read that can touch every basis and everyone no matter what, will make students more comfortable and feel like they have something/ someone to relate too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *