Day 26: Chudney Ross

lonebeanBusiness Owner. TV Host. Model. Chudney Ross has many amazing accomplishments. But she reveals on Social Butterfly that her proudest one is getting her book deal. Chudney, the youngest daughter of Diana Ross, made her kidlit debut last year with middle-grade novel,  Lone Bean. HarperCollins calls it: “. . . an entertaining read about spunky Bean Gibson and how she learns what it means to be a good friend. And that it’s possible to have more than one.”

Long dedicated to children, Chudney shares on her site that teaching led her to writing. A former preschool and elementary school teacher, she is owner of Santa Monica shop Books And Cookies, a bookstore, bakery and enrichment center.

Lucky for us, Ross has more books in the works. Lone Bean is the first of her series, Bean’s Books. We can’t wait to see more.

The Buzz About Lone Bean:

” . . . Ross, the youngest daughter of singer Diana Ross and the owner of the California children’s bookstore Books and Cookies, creates a relatable protagonist with gumption, whose insights into others’ feelings make her an empathetic friend (“Now I know Tanisha is a meany and a bully, but something in my insides makes me feel bad. I mean, she has no friends, and no sisters and no ice cream”). Things wrap up neatly, leaving the door open for further tales.”

Publishers Weekly

“This was a delightful story about the joys and perils of third grade. Fans of Sarah Pennypacker’s Clementine, Beverly Cleary’s Ramona and Megan McDonald’s Judy Moody will love Bean Gibson. Lone Bean is a great classroom read aloud. I can’t wait to share this book with my third grade teachers so they can share it with their students . . . “

– Mrs. Archer’s Book Notes

Read an interview with Chudney Ross at Crayons and Croissants.

Find out more about her here.

About these ads

2 Responses to Day 26: Chudney Ross

  1. tadmack says:

    Was happy to hear a fairly positive buzz about this book, because I know how many times famous people hop onto the children’s lit author bandwagon when they have no heart for kids. This book looks adorable.

  2. Tracey says:

    I agree with the comment above. There are a lot of celebrity children’s books out there, but so few really have the knack for it. This one really does look great. And the cover is lovely.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 559 other followers

%d bloggers like this: